Grading Scale

Hunterdon Central's grade scale is a modified 10-point scale, which includes “plus” and “minus” designations for each letter grade.

Final grades in all courses will appear as letter grades A+ through F. The GPA (Grade Point Average) for Honors courses will be awarded an additional weighting of .5; the GPA for Advanced Placement courses will be awarded an additional weighting of 1.0. Please note: students enrolled in an AP course who take the AP Exam will receive full AP weight for the course; otherwise, Honors weight will apply. Cumulative GPA and WGPA (Weighted Grade Point Average) for final course grades are tabulated and posted on student report cards and the permanent transcript record at the conclusion of each quarter. Please keep in mind that the majority of colleges recalculate GPA on a pure 4.0 scale. In the recalculation process colleges use the grading scale provided by the high school.

Numeric Equivalent GPA
A+ 97-100 4.0 4.5 5.0
A 93-96 4.0 4.5 5.0
A- 90-92
3.7 4.2 4.7
B+ 87-89 3.3 3.8 4.3
83-86 3.0 3.5 4.0
B- 80-82 2.7 3.2 3.7
77-79 2.3 2.8 3.3
73-76 2.0 2.5 3.0
70-72 1.7 2.2 2.7
D+ 67-69 1.3 1.8 2.3
D 65-66 1.0 1.5 2.0
F Below 65
0.0 0.0 0.0


Why are final grades reported as letter grades, rather than numeric grades?

The decision to present final grades earned in a course as letter grades, rather than numeric grades, was made because this is the method preferred by colleges and universities. This method is also in alignment with what is done by other high-performing high schools. Please note that parents and students have access to Aspen, Hunterdon Central’s online, password-protected student information source, and can view the actual numerical grades earned in each course.

Why is the failure point set at 65?

The grade scale includes a modification at the low end of the scale, which sets Hunterdon Central’s passing grade at a 65 instead of a 60. Experience has shown that because of the rigorous coursework associated with Hunterdon Central’s curriculum, students who earn a grade of 60 have an extremely difficult time being successful in subsequent sequential classes. (Examples of sequential classes would be Algebra 1 to Algebra 2, Spanish 1 to Spanish 2, English 1 to English 2, etc.) because of this, 65 was established as the “failure point.”

Why are “plus” and “minus” designations included in the grade scale?

Research indicated that the inclusion of “plus” and “minus” designations – along with the corresponding delineations in GPA - are beneficial in further identifying the level of a student’s work and achievement in a specific course. Most colleges and universities also use these designations.

Why is there a difference in the “weighting” of Honors and Advanced Placement courses?

After reviewing the “weighting” methodology used by other high-performing high schools, a weighting of .5 for Honors courses and a weighting of 1.0 for Advanced Placement courses was established for the new grading scale. This “weighting” aligns the new scale with that of other high-performing high schools; it also more accurately reflects the academic rigor and difficulty of these courses.